Top 10 Skin Care Choices of 2019

Take good care of your skin and hydrate. If you have good skin, everything else will fall into place.

Liya Kebede

Hey Guys! I’m back and this time I’m talking skin care, more like my top 10 of 2019. If you know me, you know I am ALL about skin care and keeping my face looking fresh (pun intended, love this brand!). Anyways, let’s get started!

Myrrha’s Top 10 of 2019:

Nature Republic Snail Solution Foam Cleaner

1. Let’s start off with some daily cleansers, while I did buy this during my trip to Korea, I have used it multiple times before and let me tell you, it’s to die for! It is honestly my favorite every day cleanser and here’s why. Nature Republic is an already well known company for their bomb skin care, make up, hair products and even men specific products. But let’s be real, when it comes to the goodies I’m going for, my main target is the skin care section. Snail mucin is a well known ingredient when it comes to many top skin care lines because it’s rich with nutrients like hyaluronic acid, glycoprotein enzymes, and antimicrobial and copper peptides which help lead to healthy and beautiful skin. Here’s why I LOVE this product: It’s gentle enough to be used as an every day cleanser, it takes off literally everything when you are wearing make up and because of the snail mucin, it’s also a great anti-aging foam cleanser, a little goes a long ways! If you want to try it out, heres the link for Nature Republic’s site, I highly recommend you give this one a try!

Sulwhasoo Gentle Cleansing Foam

2. Here we are again with another Korean brand, if you can’t tell, Korean skin care is kind of my thing! Sulwhasoo Gentle Cleansing Foam is one of my other top favorites followed by its sister, the Gentle Cleansing Oil (we will talk about that next). This is a very mild and gentle foaming cleanser, it’s a little on the pricy side, but well worth it. This cleanser removes your skins impurities without stripping it, you know that feeling you get when your face is all parched and tight after washing it? Yeah, you wont get that feeling with this product, it’s that good. With it’s amazing ingredients like morus alba leaf extract (which can be used for many things), dioscorea japonica root extract and Sulwhasoo’s hydro-cleansing formula your skin get’s cleansed and moisturized with all of the love it deserves. So if you’re in the mood to splurge a little on your skin care, I hope you give this brand a shot! I’ve been using many of their products for over a year now and I wish I would have bought more while in Korea (guess I’ll have to stock up when I’m back in April!).

Sulwhasoo Gentle Cleansing Oil

3. Sulwhasoo Gentle Cleansing Oil, this stuff is MAGIC and here’s why: If you’re like me and you wear sunscreen every day, which you should, even if it looks gloomy out, this is your holy grail of cleansers. It’s gentle enough you can use it every day (I do, okay like 5/7 days) BUT if you are using sunscreen, depending on what you use, sometimes a foam cleanser wont get everything off your face, that’s why it’s important to make sure that the cleansers you are using are made to get ALL of your products off. For myself, I like using the oil first and then using the cleansing foam, they are both gentle enough you can use them every day and be fine. When I use both I know I’m totally cleansing my face, keeping it moisturized and happy and I don’t need to worry abut any left over product that will come off when I tone. This oil has a beautiful mix of Korean traditional herbal oil complex which contains, camilla japonica seed oil, apricot kernel oil and prunus mume seed extract along with Sulwhasoo’s hydro-cleansing formula, of course. Just like before, if you can afford to do a little splurge, I highly recommend this brand.

Tatcha The Rice Polish Classic

4. Up next, exfoliators. Oh my lanta, Tatcha, Tatcha, Tatcha, another favorite and must have! This foaming enzyme powder is BOMB, I have been using this one and the Deep version, both are amazing, they are a little polish powder that turns into a gentle foam as you scrub your face with a little water added. This product is nice because it’s perfect for all skin types as they have different versions of the rice polish such as classic, deep, gentle and calming. This non-abrasive skin polish instantly reveals a smooth canvas after use, it’s perfect to use about 2-3 times weekly ( I like the deep one, but the classic you can also use daily), and it’s gentle enough that it has a pH neutral, amino acid base that doesn’t strip your skin of moisture. If you want to try this out, go for it, you wont regret it!

fresh sugar strawberry exfoliating face wash

5. Fresh, it’s nice to feel that way after a nice exfoliating session and that’s just how you’ll feel after this product. This a gentle and amazing smelling, exfoliating face wash that removes your impurities and excess oil and once again, it doesn’t strip your skin (if you can’t tell, I like things that don’t make my skin feel tight and dry). It’s simply made with sugar crystals, strawberry extract and grapeseed oil, along with soap berry peel extract to gently cleanse. This face scrub also helps keep your skin soft and moisturized thanks to its bomb ingredients and of course following up with your other skin care routine as well.

olehenriksen transformig walnut scrub

6. Oh Ole Henriksen, one of the best of the best, am I right? This is a face scrub you’ll want to use like 2-3 times a week, it’s a little more on the grainy side versus the Fresh one, but it does what it’s meant to do. I remember the first time I used this my face felt so clean and smooth, I was walking around telling my family I was so fresh and so clean, clean * insert OutKast voice. This yummy scrub has walnut powder to gently exfoliate the skin and ginseng and chamomile extract to purify and revive the skin. With this one, a little goes a long ways so that $28 is worth it, in my opinion.

OLEhenriksen c-rush brightening gel crème

7. Last but not least, hydration, moisturizers and crème’s! They are everything that we need in life. Ole Henriksen is one of my favorites, whether it’s the C-Rush moisturizer or the brightening crème, they are both amazing. Full of goodness, these are both hydrating and they brighten and firm the skin while also targeting fine lines and wrinkles. With 3 sources of vitamin C and rose of winter extract you’ll fight visible signs of aging and keep your complexion bright and glowing! This is honestly one of my favorites, it has helped with some of my dark spots from old acne scars and now I can’t even tell I ever had them. If you want that quick pick me up, this is the one for you.

tatcha the water cream

8. Tatcha, Tatcha, Tatcha, we are back! This is probably my holy grail of hydration goodness, it’s light, non-greasy, anti-aging, and oil-free. What more could you want? This amazing product is on the expensive-ish side, but it’s well worth it and a little goes a long ways for sure. You get this cute little spatula spoon to help scoop out the proper amount, which it totally helpful as it also helps you control the amount you use. In this product there are powerful Japanese botanicals such as Japanese wild rose, Japanese leopard lilly, along with some Japanese super foods (Uji green tea, Okinawa mozuku algae and akita rice). This water cream is a little splash of heavenly hydration for the face and neck and Tatcha also has the little travel size of the water cream which is perfect for those who love to travel!

mediheal x bts brightening care face mask

9. If you know me, you know I LOVE BTS, but even if these weren’t part of a BTS collab, I would still choose them as one of my top favorites for face mask’s and here’s why: 1. They are absolutely amazing and refreshing 2. After using them for two week’s straight (I wanted to see what the hype was about) my skin looked so fresh, bright and hydrated. I felt that I was 100% confident in my own skin to go about my days without any make up on (besides my brows, of course), just due to how bright my complexion was and how I looked glowy without looking greasy (you know what I mean). I also loved the tea tree masks, especially after a long day, you stick it in the fridge for a few minutes and then you have a cool, refreshing face mask to help calm your skin and tighten your pores. Mediheal is definitely one of my favorite Korean skin care brands as well, definitely check them out if you can!

supergoop unseen sunscreen

10. Last but not least, sunscreen! It’s an everyday necessity, even if you think you don’t need it, you do. I have gone through my fair share of sunscreen’s and let me tell you this is the best of the best. I’m very picky when it comes to what I put on my face I don’t like heavy products which is why I love this one, it goes on nice and light and it’s also great as a make-up gripping base, while being SPF 40! This sunscreen is totally invisible, weightless, scentless (perfect for those sensitive to smell) and oil-free! This is literally the perfect non-greasy last step to your skin care routine if you’re wanting a make up free day, or if you want to use it as your base before you start your make-up routine.

Conclusion:

Although I’m clearly not a professional, I do take my skin care seriously as I don’t like to wear too much make up (I love to show my freckles!). I do however do my research when it comes to which skin care I use and what’s in it, as I like to stay in the know with new products and the top products for different skin concerns as well. These products are just a guide for you to see what has been in my top for 2019 and what I will be taking with me in 2020! If you have any favorites, leave a comment, I would love to check them out!

Leave a comment