Packing 101: What To Pack For A Weekend Away

So let’s be real, we all tend to overpack when we don’t need to and then we under pack when we shouldn’t, so how do you know what’s important to pack and what’s not? Let’s take a look at what you should be packing for a little weekend getaway! Also, don’t forget your toothbrush and toothpaste, it happens a little too frequently for myself..

Weekend Getaway

Let’s imaging you’re flying down to L.A. for the weekend, you’re from a cute state called Oregon, okay that’s where I’m from but still, you fly out Friday morning and head back home on Monday morning, so what are you going to pack for the weekend? Let’s go through a checklist to make sure you have it all without overpacking! I will say that my outfits and style will be geared towards ladies, but guys, you can still pack along the same lines, but obviously it would be geared towards your own style! Also, to my older ladies, have no worries, you can still follow my guide even if you’re not into the high waisted shorts, or mom jeans, thats okay! Everyone has their style but you know you have that dress, pair of shorts or crops you love, opt those in instead and own it.

Let’s Start Packing

1. First off let’s think about what you’re going to wear on the plane, then you don’t need to worry about packing it right away. Should you just wear pajamas? No, think about it, you’re flying into LAX, and you’re probably going to straight to your hotel and then off to begin your adventure. When I fly I like to keep it cute and casual, try a cute sundress, denim jacket, sandals and a hobo style bag. It’s only a couple of hours to LAX from PDX so you don’t have to carry much, just the basics like your wallet, ticket, phone, headphones, water and maybe a book or iPad. If a dress isn’t your thing, have no fear, denim, a cute basic top (or a fun one with a crazy pattern) and some flats are also a great option as well!

2. Next, it’s finally time, you have your suitcase ready and it’s time to fill it up! Since you’re only going on a weekend trip, you’ll probably take a carry-on size suitcase which means you have to be smart with what you take, so let me share some little tips and tricks with you. Tip number one, plan your outfits, if you’re only going to be doing casual activities during your mini vacay, you know you don’t have to pack a bunch of fancy clothes. Instead, go for a pair of high-waisted mom jeans (yes, they are totally in and go for it!), I like the distressed ones so that would be my choice, then a cute brown belt, a basic striped button up shirt with a collar that you can do a front tuck with (I couldn’t find the one I have, but this silky one would be cute too!), some cute flats or sneakers (don’t forget you also have your sandals) and maybe a hat if you’re an accessory kinda girl. Also, don’t forget the stunna shades, you’re in L.A. so there will be sun. I love oversized glasses so that would be my choice, but you do you boo! If you’re into hoops, you know you gotta rock them as well, if not, cute simple studs are always welcome.

Hollywood, Hollywood! Who has been up to the sign?

3. If you’re like me, you think about how many nights you’ll be gone (helps you plan how many undergarments and socks to pack as well), since it’s going to be a Friday-Monday trip, you are gonna be there for 3 nights, so you already have two outfits set, the one you will fly in and your second day, now you just need something for Sunday and then a comfy fit for your flight home. Since you already have jeans, I would say that you don’t need to pack another pair, instead pack a pair of shorts, a tank or light sweater, and go for your sneakers if that’s what you’ve opted for instead of flats. When I travel I love wearing my Adidas, they are my basic comfy but clean sneaker that can go with basically anything. You also have your dress, so if you decide a nice dinner is something you will do, you’re set! Just freshen up a little before dinner and add that cute shade of your favorite lipstick or tint and you’re ready. This is one of my favorite gloss bars, it’s perfect for on the go, just glide a little on, do the finger dab and you’re set!

4. Let’s think about what you want to wear on your flight home, honestly, it’s been a long weekend, you’ve had your fun and now it’s time to get down to business (to defeat the huns, of course!). Leggings, an oversized sweater and your sneakers are definitely the comfy and cute way to go, don’t forget about your oversized shades, that cute gloss bar and a cute messy bun, it’s as easy as that! Gotta stay stylish but comfy, you’re leaving your getaway and heading back to reality.

Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance.

-Coco Chanel

5. Next, clothes are planned out and ready so toiletries and make up are last but not least! They are always the things that get me, I either pack too much (mostly skin care) or I forget things (like my toothbrush or toothpaste). Depending on if you’re a make-up up kinda gal or not, things will vary for you on what you pack. For me, I always take a sheet mask, your skin gets dehydrated when you’re flying so it’s important to always have one to get that moisture back in, then I always pack sunscreen. If you read my top 10 of 2019 you saw that Supergoop! is my favorite when it comes to sunscreen, it’s also nice because it works as a primer too. I also like to take either my Laura Mericer Tinted Moisturizer or my Smooth Finish Foundation Powder, sometimes I will take both depending on what my trip will consist of. Of course I have to have my eyelash curler, eyeliner, mascara, brow pencil, highlighter and then I always have my Laneige lip glowy balm or chapstick! I also pack my favorite overnight lip mask by Laneige, it’s to die for and keeps your lips smooth, plump and hydrated. When it comes to my skincare, I take a cleanser, toner, serum, eye cream and moisturizer, I try not to pack too much but I’m a girl that likes to stick to less make up, so that’s why I normally pack more skin care. Don’t forget your deodorant, toothbrush, toothpaste, hair brush and hair straightener, along with some cute hair clips or hair ties. I have wild hair so if I don’t tame it, it’s not a cute look.

Overall this should give you a little intro into what type of basics you should pack for your weekend away, keep it simple, you might shop during your getaway so always make sure you have a little room in your suitcase for that! I have also found that I love using packing cubes, they are amazing and I got mine from Amazon. Don’t forget, seasons will always have a huge influence on what you are going to wear and your destination will also influence that. I am going to L.A. in April so my outfit ideas are coming from that trip I have planned and previous one’s I’ve been on! You just need your staple pieces like jeans, shorts, a dress or skirt, some cute versatile tops, a little accessory here and there and you’re good to go! I hope you enjoyed, leave a comment and share some of your packing tips for a weekend trip! 🙂

Leave a comment