International Travel 101: Quick Tips and Info For Your First Trip

Have you been thinking about doing a big international trip? Europe, Asia, Australia, etc? Well, if you’re like me, you take things as they come to you, you don’t stress out and it’s more of a go with the flow type of thing, but I’ll admit, having some sense of organization and plan are essential to making your trip feel like it’s an easy flow. Since traveling is most definitely something that I love to do, I’m here to share some quick tips for how I do it, internationally.

Let’s talk pricing, obviously when you travel anywhere internationally, money is going to play a large role, whether it be your flight, food, lodging or shopping, but it can be done smartly and easily! I can say that even though I just got back from Europe this summer and I didn’t think it was a hectic or stressful trip, but there are some things that I wish I would have thought about before. So, now is my time to just share some quick info on what I thought about before and after my trip, and no, I am not going to make it one of those crazy long 50 paragraph posts, I’m talking quick, 1,2,3… why it would help to think about these topics and on to the next. So, let’s get started!

1. Flight

So let’s be real, your flight is typically going to be your most expensive purchase, but, it doesn’t have to be Extremely expensive! Let’s be smart here, make sure you have your airlines rewards set up, check apps like skyscanner, hopper, Expedia and even just going on google incognito can also bring up some great deals to you if you want to do a quick browse. For myself, I have two airline credit cards and I use those to help me rack up my points easily which I can then use for upgrades on my flight or use them to help me purchase my flight for a cheaper price under “miles + cash”. Depending on what type of flight you’re wanting to book, such as coach, business or first class, you can typically find deals anywhere so don’t be discouraged if you see a flight to Italy for $5k one day, it’ll most likely drop (or already has on another site), and you always want to look at least two months out from your trip when going international. So make sure you budget for your flight and you understand how long your flight will truly be so that way you can make sure you’re comfortable otherwise, you won’t enjoy that flight.

2. Airport Check-in

Oh the dreaded airport, am I right? All of those rushing crowds, security takes forever and let’s not forget to make sure that you have EVERYTHING you need for that flight and for your layovers, if you get stuck with any. When it comes to going abroad, always make sure that you give yourself enough time! It’s better to be safe than sorry, let me tell ya. The check-in process for international does go a little differently, you need to make sure your passport and VISA (if needed) are all up to date, that you have any documents you need like your Covid vaccine proof or a negative test. Some countries may also require more forms, it’s always going to depend on their rules and regulations so make sure that your do your research! Having a little travel wallet or pouch for the airport is extremely helpful! I used one like this and it was great! I was able to keep everything I needed when it came to my documents right in one spot. I would say that my last trip, it took over an hour to even get to the counter for check-in so I really can’t stress enough how important it is to be confident in the amount of time you give yourself for check-in and security because you never know, and if you luck out, you’ll make it through quick and have time for a meal or drink of choice first! Another thing to keep in mind is when you transfer planes, in new countries you will have to go through customs and you need to be prepared for that. While in France, we got stuck in the longest line, more like mosh pit and it was honestly the most stressful time of the trip.

3. Lodging

You can never do wrong with your choice, everyone likes something different but always make sure that you do your different in the right way, meaning you aren’t overpaying for what you’re getting! Airbnb will always be my top go to, not many people think about it when it comes to traveling abroad but it’s one app that can definitely save you a bit when it comes to finding a good stay for a good price. While using Airbnb, you can decide what type of housing you want which is one of the benefits and you can sometimes get great discounts when you book longer stays or by booking ahead of time. Another great way to find lodging is by using the Expedia app, this lets you look at hotels, apartments, suites, etc. and it was actually what was used during my time in Italy! If you have points from credit cards, some airline credit cards for example will also give you great deals when it comes to booking rooms with companies they are associated with which can also be a better deal that finding a room from Expedia, Airbnb, etc. So don’t forget about always checking with any of your cards for that info, it can save you big bucks!

4. Food

My favorite part of traveling, getting to try new foods and find new favorites while learning about new cultures. When it comes to purchasing foods, try not to buy directly from the airport unless you’re able to get those bonus points on your card for purchasing at the airport or even when it comes to purchasing food directly from your hotel restaurant, sometimes those can be overly priced BUT it can be worth. What makes it worth the purchase? When you book your hotel, you typically use a credit card and with that credit card you can also earn double points (or more) depending on the restaurant and if you charge to your room, boom, it goes directly to that card. I did realize this when I was in S. Korea and we had stayed at the Conrad which is actually part of the Hilton chain and it was great being able to charge directly to a Hilton credit card for those extra points that will be available for future travels which can lead to free nights or room upgrades. I would also Highly suggest going local, get some cash, and enjoy those mom n pop shops, food carts, etc. It can typically be the best way to get a full meal for less than a restaurant price. In S. Korea, my mom and I were actually able to get two meals for $7 and change just from food carts in Myeong-dong with dessert! So be smart, don’t be that person who can only eat at a 5-star, unless you can afford that lifestyle, debt free of course!

So, although it’s short, think about these things when you do go abroad, sometimes just having someone let you know that, “hey, food can get expensive if you’re always looking for the highest rated place”, can remind you that there’s always beauty in finding a hidden gem. When we travel, enjoying ourselves should not be put on hold, so that’s why you want to stay smart when it comes to planning, budgeting and living your best life. You don’t want to waste that fun adventure worrying about everything, so make your list, pack accordingly and always double check everything! It will never hurt to be overly prepared 😉

Leave a comment